Skip to main content
What the Mountains Remember

What the Mountains Remember

Current price: $18.99
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2024
Publisher:
Harper Muse
ISBN:
9781400244317
Pages:
368
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days

Description

"Joy Calloway weaves a dramatic, heartfelt story of self- discovery and a hard-won love against the stunning backdrop the 'Eighth Wonder of the World.'"

--Mary Alice Monroe, New York Times bestselling author of Time is a River

At this wondrous resort, secrets can easily be hidden in plain sight when the eye is trained on beauty.

April 1913--Belle Newbold hasn't seen mountains for seven years--since her father died in a mining accident and her mother married gasoline magnate, Shipley Newbold. But when her stepfather's business acquaintance, Henry Ford, invites the family on one of his famous Vagabonds camping tours, she is forced to face the hills once again--primarily in order to reunite with her future fianc , owner of the land the Vagabonds are using for their campsite, a man she's only met once before. It is a veritable arranged marriage, but she prefers it that way. Belle isn't interested in love. She only wants a simple life--a family of her own and the stability of a wealthy man's pockets. That's what Worth Delafield has promised to give her and it's worth facing the mountains again, the reminder of the past, and her poverty, to secure her future.

But when the Vagabonds group is invited to tour the unfinished Grove Park Inn and Belle is unexpectedly thrust into a role researching and writing about the building of the inn--a construction the locals are calling The Eighth Wonder of the World--she quickly realizes that these mountains are no different from the ones she once called home. As Belle peels back the facade of Grove Park Inn, of Worth, of the society she's come to claim as her own, and the truth of her heart, she begins to see that perhaps her part in Grove Park's story isn't a coincidence after all. Perhaps it is only by watching a wonder rise from ordinary hands and mountain stone that she can finally find the strength to piece together the long-destroyed path toward who she was meant to be.

International bestselling author Joy Callaway returns with a story of the ordinary people behind extraordinary beauty--and the question of who gets to tell their stories.

Praise for What the Mountains Remember:

"Callaway is back with another insightful rendering of a place and time in history, bringing her trademark attention to detail, warmth, and heart to a story centered around one of the nation's most beautiful and fabled hotels, the Grove Park Inn in Asheville NC."? --Marybeth Mayhew Whalen, author of ten novels and cofounder of The Book Tide

A stunning portrayal of the building of the Grove Park Inn that reveals not only its grandeur, but also the struggles of the laborers tasked with its construction, Joy Callaway brings the famed Vagabonds to life with immaculate research and rich details in this intriguing, elegantly written historical fiction that readers are going to love "

--Madeline Martin, New York Times Bestseller author of The Keeper of Hidden Books?

  • Perfect for fans of The Only Woman in Room and A Well-Behaved Woman
  • Stand-alone novel
  • Includes Discussion Questions